Análises para Improve YouTube! (Open-Source for YouTube)
Improve YouTube! (Open-Source for YouTube) por code-for-charity, ImprovedTube
76 análises
- Used to be good in the past. Now not so much. While there are a lot of great options i consider a must have, sadly it makes youtube tabs extremely heavy and also near unusable. The YT interface becomes laggy and tabs freeze constantly.
Worse is that it happens on both Chrome and Firefox on two different PC's. (even worse is that performance issues have been present for a long time now, they just got worse and worse over time with each update)
Since the last update, i can't even open the settings anymore, it just says "asking your browser what settings you made here before" (on the FF PC) so i can't even export my settings (or more importantly, the watched list) anymore.
Sadly all of that means that the addon is unusable and simply does not work as intended anymore.
I hope it will improve at some point, but for now i can do nothing but to remove the addon for good, from all my devices. - Avaliado em 1 de 5por AB , há 10 dias
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por D_S , há 21 diasThe settings will not be retained. Every new page load is unchanged even though the settings are listed as active.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 13 diasunlikely unless your storage device is locked or broken! please double check what you are doing (m.youtube.com support is limited) and make a bug report if still necessary. https://github.com/code-charity/youtube
thanks - Avaliado em 1 de 5por William , há 24 dias
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por Mars , há 25 diasWhile the features this addon provides are great, I am unable to use any of them because every time I attempt to install this extension, my computer becomes unusably laggy regardless of whether youtube is active or not. My computer gets so laggy that youtube videos are no longer able to play. Am not sure if this is an issue on my end or on the developer's end but this extension is completely unusable for me.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 13 diasPlease check the browser console F12 and make a bug report https://github.com/code-charity/youtube Please disable your features one by one to find the breaking one. If real, of course this is important and urgent (yet also unlikely even two reviews in a row saying "my computer is slow" mean nothing real, since the thought is contagious.) - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 13507781 , há 25 diasFor the past few days, some YouTube pages in Firefox have been experiencing terrible page freezes. The built-in manager shows a load of 100% or even 200+%. When the add-on is disabled and the page is reopened, everything returns to normal.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 13 diasPlease check the browser console F12 and make a bug report https://github.com/code-charity/youtube . Please disable your features one by one to find the breaking one. Resposta do programador
publicado a há 13 diasPlease check the browser console F12 and make a bug report https://github.com/code-charity/youtube . Please disable your features one by one to find the breaking one.
Otherwise we have no choice but ignore this (often these reviews are spam)- Avaliado em 1 de 5por AvalonFallen , há 2 mesesDoes not shuffle playlists on Firefox mobile. This is the only extension I could find that claimed to do this, but I was very dissapointed when the option was enabled and the playlist continued in order.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 2 mesesHi! Please consider by the nature of our work you might always find some feature requiring updates after changes to the Youtube website. Our feature automatically activated Youtube's button to shuffle playlists. You can also try if logging out makes a difference. - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Marc , há 2 meses
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por ShadowEri , há 2 mesesWorks fine for the most part, but completely removes the recorded live chat for ALL videos with no options to turn it back on.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 2 mesesThe extension does nothing by default. Please check again and toggle your features one by one. - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Raeseti , há 3 mesesGreat to begin with, but if you start going through your subscriptions it will bog down and break. And it turns out that the developer doesn't understand that not everyone who installs the extension is not their personal bug report.
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por DisplayName , há 3 mesesAdd on makes youtube unusably laggy.
And yes developer this is what reviews are for. They're for leaving information for others about the experience of using the app. "Makes the website it's for unusably slow" is useful information for other users. This isn't a technical or bug support request. It's a review of the functionality of the app.Resposta do programador
publicado a há 3 mesesReviews tend to display herd behavior, reviews tend to display herd behavior, while the product is complex and hard to judge. The amount of daily uninstalls is low. This project was updated by over 200 volunteers. There might be a mystery bug only affecting 0.1% of users or 1% of Firefox version users - worth discovering, but depending on you writing a bug report..
I meant Mozilla has rules generally allowing to flag / remove this. - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 16192357 , há 3 mesesToo bad, the options are very relevant, but this extension makes YT unusable: depending on the chosen options, the YT window freezes. Calculation, settings, or others, we don't know what's happening. I don't quite understand the number of positive reviews, as I don't have such an exotic setup (FF 146.0.1 + YT Anti-Translate + Privacy Badger + Ublock Origin + Emoji CheatSet on W11x64).
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 3 mesesno. (reviews are not for this). If there is aynthing, please join the bug report discussion/s https://github.com/code-charity/youtube/issues?q=state%3Aopen%20label%3A%22z%20FireFox%22
thanks - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 13581270 , há 3 meses
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 16768472 , há 4 mesesThe performance is very bad and the developer doesn't seem to be willing to fix it. Furthermore some features are missing and the ones that do exist don't work reliable, probably because of the very bad performance.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 3 mesesno. (reviews are not for this). If there is aynthing, please join the bug report discussion/s https://github.com/code-charity/youtube/issues?q=state%3Aopen%20label%3A%22z%20FireFox%22
thanks - Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 18986140 , há 4 mesesThis extension doesn’t perform as advertised! I’m not sure what people like about it or why it receives high reviews, but it fails to fulfill the primary purpose for which I downloaded it. I wanted it to remove “Shorts” from my search results and home page. While it does partially remove them from my home page, it does nothing to improve my search results. Regardless of which toggles I activate, every search is completely filled with “Shorts,” rendering this extension useless for my needs.
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por john , há 5 mesesvery high cpu usage now. wasnt a problem until a few days ago.
Resposta do programador
publicado a há 3 mesesno. (reviews are not for this). If there is aynthing, please join the bug report discussion/s https://github.com/code-charity/youtube/issues?q=state%3Aopen%20label%3A%22z%20FireFox%22
thanks - Avaliado em 1 de 5por LL K , há 5 mesesThe extension offers a lot of useful features, but it severely affected my Firefox performance immediately after installation. The browser became noticeably slower, and C.P.U. usage spiked by ~35%. From what I’ve seen in other reviews, the developer tends to dismiss, and deny these performance issues rather than investigating, or assisting affected users; replying with responses in denial, instead of looking into the issue. Unfortunately, due to these problems and the lack of constructive support, I cannot recommend this extension.
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por keenoy , há 5 mesesIt's works fine on PC but not on mobile. Blacklist does not work at all and even freezes the browser.
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por SzymonL , há 7 meses
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por DOT , há 7 meses
- Avaliado em 1 de 5por Utilizador do Firefox 19242234 , há 7 mesesThis addon claims there are filter rules. There are no filter rules that I could see. Searching the menu for "filter" reveals nothing. At best, you can "block" channels and videos, a feature youtube already has.
Also, installing this caused all of my firefox tabs on youtube to stop responding, forcing me to close and reopen each.
It's weird to me how strongly they are marketing this addon, too, and the uninstall page vaguely tries to guilt trip you for removing the plugin. I realize this is recommended by mozilla, but it's tripping a lot of sus metrics for me, and I can't recommend it.
Edit: Further review of the developer's responses on low scoring reviews make me even more certain this isn't a good idea. 1) The developers respond to claims the plugin slows users' browser down with "nuh uh no it doesn't" and "yeah well why don't you measure the milliseconds with dev tools?", and 2) The devs claim that voting less than 5 stars is "voting against the project". Why does that matter? Why does your score on your open source, free project matter? It's almost like you're pushing for popularity on your plugin for some other reason. It's incredibly suspicious, and that type of language is couched in incredibly manipulative undertones. *Don't install this.* This thing is full of red flags.Resposta do programador
publicado a há 7 mesesHi, the word filter applies to our many layout and display:none features. However content-filtering can be the biggest roadmap item since we have not implemented or been asked, most of it. You can read up on it here https://github.com/code-charity/youtube/issues?q=is%3Aissue%20state%3Aopen%20label%3A%22Filtering%20%26%20Discovery%20(of%20Content)%22 )(half of which remains monologues with no user participation) https://github.com/MarcGuiselin/youtube-refined did some, yet only found about 1000 users then. Recently our new "competitor" Untrap has some too i think and is surprisingly the most / only likely developer to be reading our repo and roadmap. (If you can, suggest them not to collab / not reinvent this difficult task https://github.com/code-charity/youtube/discussions/1881). You can give fair feedback and you might not want to frustrate volunteers. We could also flag this ("Misplaced bug report or support request"), but prefer to keep information visible. There is no marketing budget and usually that would leave traces. When driven by suspicion, you might have more fun /success examining code. (You could enhance global security scanners or run your own).